Give Me Jesus

SunRise

African American Spiritual, c. 1860

1. In the morning when I rise,
in the morning when I rise,
in the morning when I rise,
give me Jesus.

Refrain:
Give me Jesus,
give me Jesus,
you may have all this world;
give me Jesus.

2. Dark midnight was my cry,
dark midnight way my cry,
dark midnight was my cry,
give me Jesus. [Refrain]

3. Just about the break of day,
just about the break of day,
just about the break of day,
give me Jesus. [Refrain]

4. Oh, when I come to die,
oh, when I come to die,
oh, when I come to die,
give me Jesus. [Refrain]

Leave a Reply

